Raghul clinches MRF F1600 title

Ashish Ramaswamy wins Indian Touring Cars title

Raghul Rangasamy emerged champion of the MRF Formula 1600 category on the final day of the fifth round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship (INRC) at the MMRT here on Sunday.

By winning the title in this category, Rangasamy has earned a ticket to this year’s Mazda Road To Indy Shootout in the United States.

Rangasamy’s final tally was 182 points (two wins, seven podiums) to Goutham Parekh’s 174 (two wins, six podiums).

He said: “I feel great to win the championship and look forward to the Mazda Road To Indy Shootout. I am happy that I took the title.”

Ashish Ramaswamy .

Ashish Ramaswamy .  

Mumbai’s Nayan Chatterjee completed a double in the category, winning races one (on Saturday) and three. The 16-year-old Bengaluru schoolboy Yash Aradhya topped race two.

Ashish Ramaswamy (Arka Motorsports), with his seventh consecutive podium finish of the season, won the championship in the premium Indian Touring Cars class with a tally of 167 points, edging out Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) by just six points.

The results (Provisional, all 8 laps): MRF Formula 1600 (Race 2): 1. Yash Aradhya (Bengaluru) 16:54.672s; 2. Goutham Parekh (Chennai) 16:55.296; 3. Raghul Rangasamy (Mamallapuram) 16:55.543; Race 3: 1. Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai) 13:35.208; 2. Parekh 13:35.776; 3. Rangasamy 13:36.359; Champion:Raghul Rangasamy (182 points).

Indian Touring Cars (Race 2): 1. Arjun Balu (Race Concept) 15:22.974; 2. Ashish Ramaswamy (Arka Motorsports) 15:37.888; 3. D. Vidya Prakash (Prime Racing) 15:38.145; Champion: Ashish Ramaswamy (167 points); Turbo cars: 1. Karthik Tharani (VW Motorsport) 15:26.077; 2. Rayomand Banajee (VW Motorsport) 15:40.141; 3. Ishaan Dodhiwala (VW Motorsport) 15:49.744.