Dakshin Dare: Gill & Musa take it all

It was their 50th rally together and they have been on top 31 times

Goa: Delhi’s Gaurav Gill (Musa Sherif) of Team Mahindra Adventure went for the final kill at Kolhapur the other day and signed off on a merry note, having regained the overall title in the 10th Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare 2018 here on Saturday.

In fact, it was a one horse race all the way. After securing a solid lead, Gill did not wish to display his daredevilry on the broken tarmac. He had to keep his calm to seal the deal in the last two stages on Friday. But with terrain turning slippery due to overnight rain, the last stage for the day was called off and Gill kept it simple to regain the crown that he last won in 2012.

“There’s no point turning on the heat when you know the battle has already been won,” said the six-time INRC champion. “It’s not easy to drive a five-day long rally but I gave my 200%. We had a wonderful car, a great team and I must thank Leelakrishnan for a job well done,” added Gill.

For both Gill and Musa, it was their 50th rally together and they have been on top 31 times. No doubt they make a great pair.


Team Mahindra Adventure’s other driver, Philippos Matthai (P.V.S. Moorthy), did a commendable job as well. It was his commitment and enthusiasm that helped him seal the second spot.

For Samrat Yadav (Karan Aukta) it was his patience that helped him secure the third place.