Vijayakumar leads India’s Caterham double sweep

B. Vijayakumar (Coimbatore) won both the races in the Caterham 7 Asia Zonal championship while the Formula 4 South-East Asia championship triple-header had three different winners in Alessandro Ghiretti (France), Alister Yoong (Malaysia) and Muizz Musyaffa (Malaysia) at the MMRT here on Sunday.

Vijayakumar led a 1-2-3 finish for India in both the races with M.R. Dastur and Vicky Chandhok completing the podium (in that order) in the double-header.

In the Caterham event came in the first race, Vijayakumar lost his spot to Chandhok who was subsequently docked a 30s penalty for jump start.

The results: Formula 4 South-East Asia championship - Race 1 (14 laps): 1. Alessandro Ghiretti (Fra) 24:49.279s; 2. Kane Shepherd (Tha) 24:52.274; 3. Luke Thompson (Ire) 25:04.684; Race 2 (15 laps): 1. Alister Yoong (Mal) 25:02.054; 2. Alessandro Ghiretti (Fra) 25:02.152; 3. Antoine Potty (Bel) 25:08.487; Race 3 (15 laps): 1. Muizz Musyaffa (Mal) 24:42.780; 2. Alessandro Ghiretti (Fra) 24:48.322; 3. Kane Shepherd (Tha) 25:01.954.

Caterham 7 Asian Zonal championship - Race 1 (10 laps): 1. B. Vijayakumar (Ind) 19:20.498; 2. M.R. Dastur (Ind) 19:49.889; 3. Vicky Chandhok (Ind)